OSBA LEGISLATIVE POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING PAGE 1 OF 2

## TUESDAY, AUGUST 25, 2020 Zoom Video Conference

*OSBA committee members in attendance at meeting start*: Chair Liz Hartman, Jose Aparicio, Jessica Arzate, Fred Brick, Kelly Bissinger, Kevin Cassidy, Chris Cronin, Yesenia Delgado, Mark Everett, Libra Forde, Bill Graupp, Kris Howatt, LeeAnn Larsen, John Lindenthal, Erika Lopez, Steve Lowell, Sonja Mckenzie, Dianne Mihocko, Rita Moore, Tass Morrison, Judy Newman, Patti Norris, Brandy Penner, Rebecca Piros, Scott Rogers, Courtney Snead, Mark Truax, Becky Tymchuk, Mark Watson, Maureen Wolf

OSBA staff in attendance at meeting start: Executive Director Jim Green, Deputy Executive Director Mary Paulson, Director of Legislative Services Lori Sattenspiel, PACE Administrator Dave Harvey, Director of Legal Services Haley Percell, Director of Policy Services Spencer Lewis, Director of Board Development Steve Kelley, Director of Communications Alex Pulaski, Legislative Services Specialist Richard Donovan, Executive Assistant Jane Leonhardt, HR Manager Jenny Fedler, Legislative-Labor Analyst La'Nell Trissel

*OSBA committee members not in attendance*: Satya Chandragiri, Jackie Crook, Terry Deacon, Sarah Finger McDonald, Ron Fox, Linda Hamilton, Craig Hawkins, Glenn Holum, Greg Kintz, Melissa LaCrosse, Craig Prewitt, Chrissy Reitz, Lori Theros, Anthony Veliz, Michelle Vo

### Chair Liz Hartman called the meeting to order at 9:22 a.m.

I. Welcome

Liz welcomed everyone to the meeting, called roll, and confirmed a quorum was present.

II. Approve agenda

# Motion: LeeAnn Larson moved the committee to approve the agenda as presented. Seconded by Sonja Mckenzie.

### The committee voted, and the motion passed unanimously.

III. Approve meeting minutes

Motion: Kevin Cassidy moved the committee to approve the June 11, 2020, OSBA Legislative Policy Committee meeting minutes, as presented. Seconded by Maureen Wolf.

The committee voted, and the motion passed unanimously.

OSBA LEGISLATIVE POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING PAGE 2 OF 2

IV. Presentation of member feedback on proposed 2021-22 Legislative Priorities and Principles

Lori gave an overview of the document's main function to direct OSBA's legislative effort and its role in increasing the statewide advocacy of the Legislative Policy Committee, the process by which the document was created, and its subsequent review by the membership. She then outlined the results of the membership's review as positive and commented that any criticism was a result of not being in the room during the development of the document, mainly consisting of issues that had already been addressed by the committee. She ended on behalf of the Legislative Department Staff and recommend the 2021-22 Legislative Priorities and Principles document be approved by the Legislative Policy Committee and gave a briefly described of the next steps towards ratifying the document.

Lori and Richard then fielded questions regarding any pushback that can be expected by the membership, changes to the preamble, and a clarification of next steps towards ratifying the document.

Jim announced Libra Forde's appointment to the OSBA Board of Directors.

V. Vote on draft 2021-2022 Legislative Priorities and Principles

#### Motion: LeeAnn Larsen moved the committee to approve the proposed 2021-22 Legislative Priorities and Principles as presented and recommend they be forwarded to the OSBA Board of Directors as a resolution. Seconded by Becky Tymchuk.

#### The committee voted, and the motion passed unanimously.

Liz asked for any other business. There was none.

Richard and Jim gave closing remarks thanking everyone for the hard work and effort in the creation of the document.

Liz reminded everyone who's term of office is up to submit their applications for the LPC or Board of Directors.

### Chair Liz Hartman adjourned the meeting at 9:42 a.m.