

OREGON SCHOOL BOARDS ASSOCIATION Board of Directors Special Meeting

Friday, January 10, 2025, 12:00 PM

Via Zoom

Meeting Minutes

OSBA board members in attendance at meeting start: President Chris Cronin; President-elect Emily Smith; Vice President Dawn Watson; Secretary-treasurer Chrissy Reitz; Past President Sami Al-Abdrabbuh; Kraig Albright; Laurie Danzuka; Katrina Doughty; José Gamero-Georgeson; Linda Hamilton; Kris Howatt; Tristan Irvin; David Jaimes; Greg Kintz; Kristy Kottkey; Steve Lowell; Alonso Oliveros; Nichole Schott; Randy Shaw; Luhui Whitebear; Anna Ali (ex-officio); Austin Folnagy (ex-officio)

OSBA staff in attendance at meeting start: Chief Legal Officer and Interim Deputy Executive Director Haley Percell, Executive Assistant La'Nell Trissel

OSBA board members not in attendance at meeting start: Jackie Crook, Nancy Thomas

President Cronin called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

I. Welcome and roll call

Roll call was taken, and a quorum was present.

President Cronin welcomed everyone to the meeting and introduced new board members.

II. Approve agenda

Motion: Kris Howatt moved to approve the agenda as presented. Seconded by Emily Smith.

There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimously.

Kraig Albright: Yea Chris Cronin: Yea Jackie Crook: Absent Laurie Danzuka: Yea Katrina Doughty: Yea José Gamero-Georgeson: Yea Linda Hamilton: Yea Kris Howatt: Yea Tristan Irvin: Yea David Jaimes: Yea Greg Kintz: Yea Kristy Kottkey: Yea Steve Lowell: Yea Alonso Oliveros: Yea Chrissy Reitz: Yea Nichole Schott: Yea Randy Shaw: Yea Emily Smith: Yea Nancy Thomas: Absent Dawn Watson: Yea Luhui Whitebear: Yea

III. Appointments

President Cronin directed everyone's attention to the Process for Conducting Appointments that was provided in the meeting packet and detailed the process that will be used for today's appointments.

III.A. Board of Directors

III.A.1. Position 7, Clackamas Region

President Cronin announced Glenn Wachter and Timothy Behrens as the candidates for Board of Directors Position 7, Clackamas Region, then invited the Board to speak on behalf of the candidates.

Cronin provided further clarification regarding the process.

** Glenn Wachter joined the meeting at 12:10 p.m. **

Cronin opened an election by voice, resulting in 17/1 vote in favor of Glenn Wachter.

Motion: Emily Smith moved the Board to appoint Glenn Wachter to the Board of Directors, Position 7, Clackamas Region. Seconded by Chrissy Reitz.

A vote by voice was taken. There being one vote in opposition, the motion passed with a majority.

Kraig Albright: Yea	Kris
Chris Cronin: Yea	Tris
Jackie Crook: Absent	Dav
Laurie Danzuka: Yea	Gre
Katrina Doughty: Yea	Kris
José Gamero-Georgeson: Yea	Stev
Linda Hamilton: Yea	Aloi

Kris Howatt: Nay Tristan Irvin: Yea David Jaimes: Yea Greg Kintz: Yea Kristy Kottkey: Yea Steve Lowell: Yea Alonso Oliveros: Yea Chrissy Reitz: Yea Nichole Schott: Yea Randy Shaw: Yea Emily Smith: Yea Nancy Thomas: Absent Dawn Watson: Yea Luhui Whitebear: Yea

III.A.2. Position 11, Marion Region

President Cronin announced Karina Guzman Ortize and Satyanrayana Chandragiri as the candidates for Board of Directors Position 11, Marion Region, then invited the Board to speak on behalf of the candidates.

Cronin opened an election by voice, resulting in 13/7 vote in favor of Karina Guzman Ortize.

Motion: Laurie Danzuka moved the Board to appoint Karina Guzman Ortize to the Board of Directors, Position 11, Marion Region. Seconded by David Jaimes.

A vote by voice was taken. There being no votes in opposition, the motion passed unanimiously.

Kraig Albright: Yea
Chris Cronin: Yea
Jackie Crook: Absent
Laurie Danzuka: Yea
Katrina Doughty: Yea
José Gamero-Georgeson: Yea
Linda Hamilton: Yea
Kris Howatt: Yea

Tristan Irvin: Yea David Jaimes: Yea Greg Kintz: Yea Kristy Kottkey: Yea Steve Lowell: Yea Alonso Oliveros: Yea Chrissy Reitz: Yea Nichole Schott: Yea Randy Shaw: Yea Emily Smith: Yea Nancy Thomas: Absent Glenn Wachter: Yea Dawn Watson: Yea Luhui Whitebear: Yea

IV. Meeting adjourns

President Cronin thanked everyone for their time, encouraged everyone to attend Monday's meeting, and welcomed Glenn and Karina to the Board.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:36 p.m.