FAQ - SB 454 Paid Sick Time Law
September 26, 2016
Oregon's Sick Time law (Senate Bill 454) required Oregon employers to provide sick time to employees beginning on January 1, 2016. Employees are able to use the sick time for a wide range of illness or preventative care reasons, as well as to take care of family members.
Employers who have employees that are covered by a collective bargaining agreement, are required to notify their union(s) prior to implementing any policy changes that have an impact on this mandatory subject of bargaining.
Oregon Sick Time Provisions:
- Can be used for customary sick time reasons plus expanded reasons similar to FMLA/OFLA.
- Provides a minimum of 40 hours for full-time employees who work a full year or sick time accrued at 1 hour for every 30 hours worked.
- Employees are eligible to use sick time on the 91st calendar day of employment. Accrues based on actual time worked.
- There is a 180 day window of time after the employee last works for an employer to retain eligibility, accrual and balance of sick time.
- Sick time shall be used in 1-hour increments unless the employer can establish this results in an undue hardship.
- Employers must notify workers at least quarterly of their balance.
- Sick time accrual applies to hours worked after January 1, 2016.
- BOLI imposes penalties and are enforceable beginning January 2017.
- Is a mandatory subject of bargaining.
See the revised FAQs (202kb - 9/26/16)
Learn more and access revised sample policies and worksheets from this video update on Oregon's Sick Time law. Recorded and presented by OSBA Policy services director, Peggy Holstedt, and Labor Relations Data and Information Coordinator, Tyler Shipman.
SB 454 Sick Time District Sample Letter